FAQ's

What is a california sr22?

In California, SR22 insurance forms are required of drivers who are considered “high risk.” California
high risk drivers include those who have been convicted for Driving While Intoxicated and reckless driving,
as well as those who have their licenses suspended or revoked. Drivers should file their California SR-22
insurance form with the California Department of Motor Vehicles for at least three years. The California
SR22 insurance form should show that the driver is carrying $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in
personal injury liability as well as $5,000 in property damage liability car insurance

Do I need to have a SR-22?

If your driver's license has been or was suspended, then yes, you'll most likely need one. You are required to provide an SR-22 in order to get your license back.

 

 

 

Why can't I just get the same insurance I had before my conviction?

Because your license was suspended, you will need to provide a SR-22 to prove you have insurance. Also, most insurance companies do not offer SR-22 insurance. However, there are some that do and we will help you find them. 

 

 

 

How long do I need SR22 auto insurance?

Typically a minimum of 3 years, depending on your state's requirements; this will be outlined in your court documents.

 

 

 

What is non-owner SR22 insurance? 

Even though you don't own a vehicle you may still be required to carry an SR22. This is called a non-owners SR22 insurance policy. The vehicle isn't covered by the SR22 or the non-owners policy. This type of insurance policy only covers liability up to the limits purchased. It does not cover the vehicle that you are driving, only the liability that you the driver may cause if you are involved in an accident with another motorist or cause property damage.

 

 

 

What are the penalties for driving without SR22 insurance?

The penalties for driving without SR22 insurance definitely vary from state to state, but some penalties that could be imposed are:

  • Your vehicle getting impounded and your vehicle tags seized

  • Additional and heavier fines may be imposed

  • Your license will be suspended for a longer period of time